Untitled 1                                                     RAINBOW FARMS  AUSTRALIA                                                                 

                                                                                                                                                       Territories and Places - D.

Daiminis - Devenish in Lower Loch Erne.   

Daingen; in; - Daingen Bona Cuilinn / Dangar Caste in Co. Roscommon.   

Daingen; an; See: Caislen an Dangin.  

Darsedaig / Dairsedaig - De Arcys in Co. Westmeath in 1472 AD.   

Dalatunaig - Daltons in Co. Westmeath.   

Dal gCais - People of 91.Cas - main Sept O Brians of Thomond / Northern Munster.   

Danair - Danes.   

Dartraige - Sept who had their territory in Rosclogher in Co. Leitrim.

Desie / Desies: Territory that takes in the greater part of Co. Waterford and a part of Co,Tipperary named for the Deisigh / Desie descended from 83.Fiacha Suidhe, a brother to 83.Conn - of the Hundred Battles, who in Meath originally had a large terrritory Deise Teamrach - of Tara situated near Tara. During 85.Cormac Mac Art's reign 85.Aongus / Aeneas the Deise Prince in Meath who was a grandsion of 83.Fiacha Suidhe waged a rebellion over the Kingship against 85.Cormac Mac Art and broke into Tara with his followers wounding 85.Cormac Mac Art and killing his son 86.Kelly / Ceallach and 85.Cormac Mac Art after 7 battles defeated them and drover 85.Aongus and his followers into the Munster Province were they received territory from 84.Aillill Oluim the 1st Heberian King of Munster from the River Suir southward to the sea and from Lismore to Cean Criadain / Creadon Head, which was almost all of Co. Waterford and they called it Deisi / Nanden to distinguish it from Deise in Meath. The Desians became numerous and powerful and 91.Aongus the Heberian Eoghanacht King of Munster in the 5th Cenntury AD then gave them extra territory including Magh Feimin to the north  of the River Suir as far as Corca Eathrach taking in Machaire Caisil / The Plain of Cashel and the districts around Clonmel and part of Offa in Co. Tipperary / Deise in Tuaisceart / North Desie to distinguish this territory while their old territory in Co Waterford was Deise Deisceart / South Desie.  

Delbna (Ethra) - Delbna Meic Cochlan in Garrycastle in Co. Offaly.   

Delbna (Mor) - Barony of Delvin in Co. Westmeath.   

Dermag - Durrow in Ballycowan in Co. Offaly.   

Desmuma - Desmond  / Co. Cork and Co. Kerry, except parts north of the River Blackwater, later only south - west of Co. Cork and Co. Kerry. Originally the whole of Co. Cork and the greater part of Co. Kerry together with a part of Co. Waterford and a part of southern Co. Tipperary bordering on Co. Cork and Co. Kerry called Eoghanacht Caisil extending from Brandon  Mountain in Co. Kerry to the River Blackwater near Lismore in Co. Waterford.  

Dexetraig - De Exeters.   

 Dilmainig - Dillons.   

Disert Da Chrich - Desertcreaght in Dungannon in Co. Tyrone.   

Disert Diarmata - Castledermot in Co. Kildare.   

Diudig - Tuites.   

Doire (Coluim Cille) - Daire - Derry.   

Doire Baile na Cairrge - Clooncorick in Co. Leitrim.   

Doren / Doiren - Derrane  in Kilbride in Co. Roscommon.   

Doiri Cairlinn - Co. Roscommon.   

Doirin an Fhida - Co. Armagh.   

Doirin Crannchae - Co. Leitrim.   

Doirse Emna - 1224 AD.   

Domnach an Eich - Donaghanie in Clogherry in Co. Tyrone.   

Drobais - River Drowes between Co. Donegal and Co. Leitrim.   

Droichet (Drochat) Atha - Drogheda in Co. Louth.   

Droichet Ingine Goillin - on the Black River neat and east of Loch Corrib.   

Dromman Iarthair - in Kilbryan and Loch Key in the north of Co. Roscommon.   

Druim - Drum in Boyle in Co. Roscommon.   

Druim Airbelaig - Drumreilly in Co. Leitrim.   

Druim Cenannan - in Liscananaun in Co. Galway.   

Druim Cliab - Drumcliff in Carbury in Co. Sligo.   

Druim Cubra - Drumcoora in Co. Leitrim.   

Druim Da Eithiar (Thiagar)- Dromahaire in Co. Leitrim.   

Druim Derg - in Downpatrick in Co. Down.   

Druim Grecraige - in Loch Gara in Co. Roscommon.   

Druim Lethan - Drumlane in Co. Cavan.   

Druim Lias - Drumlease in Co. Leitrim.   

Druim Ligen - Drumlane in Lifford in Co. Donegal.   

Druim Muccado - Drumacoo in Dunkellin in Co. Galway.   

Druim Raiti - Drumrat in Corran in Co. Sligo.   

Druim Tairlinge - Drumhurlin in Taghmon in Co. Westmeath.   

Druim Tuama - Drumhone in Tir Aed in Co. Donegal.   

Druimne - in Westport in Co. Mayo.   

Druimne Atha Liac; an; - at Athleague in Co. Roscommon.

Dub - River Duff / Black River in Rosclogher in Co. Leitrim.   

Dub Chungai - Ballycong in Altymas in Co. Mayo.

Dun Ailli - west of Slieve Bawn in Co. Roscommon.    

Dun Arod - Doonard in Kiltrustan in Co. Roscommon.   

Dun Bo - Dunboe in Coleraine in Co. Derry.   

Dun Cairbre - Duncarbry in the mouth of the River Drowes in the north - east of Co. Leitrim.   

Dun Con Trethain - Donaghintraine in Templebay in Co. Sligo.   

Dun Crimthandain - See: Caislen Duin Crimthandain.   

Dun Da Lethglas  / Lethglass / Downpatrick in Co. Down.    

Dun Daigne - Duniry in the Barony of Leitrim in Co. Galway.   

Dun Delga (Delcan) - Dundalk in Co. Louth.   

Dun Genainn - Dungannon in Co. Tyrone.   

Dun Imgain (Imdan)- Dunamon in Co. Roscommon.   

Dun Lis na Caislen Duin Lis.   

Dun Mor - Dunmore in Co. Galway.   

Dun Mugford - Dooncastle  / Aghagower in Westport in Co. Mayo.   

Dun na nGall - Donegal town.   

Dun na Mona - Doonamurray in Kilrose in Co. Sligo.   

Dun Monad - in Noughaval in Co. Westmeath.   

Dun Uabair - Donore in Moycashel in Co. Westmeath. 

Dunchadaig - Men of Tellach Dunchada in Tullyhunco in Co. Cavan.   

Dubthaig Ealla - Barony of Duhallow in Co. Cork.


                 Home Page                                                                          Return to Celtic Heritage                                                         On to Territories and Places - E.