Untitled 1                                                     RAINBOW FARMS   AUSTRALIA                                                                     

                                                                                                                                    Territories and Places - G and I.

Gaidil - The Gaels  / Old Irish.

Gailenga - Barony of Gallen in Co. Mayo.

Gaill - the Galls mixed Norman, English, Flemish and Welsh.

Gaillim; in;  - the Galway River.

Galinga Beg included Glasnevin near Dublin north of the River Liffey .

Galinga Beg / Gallen in Co. Offaly in the north - west of Southern Leinster./ (O Hennessys.)

Garbthrian  Connacht; an; - Breifne.

Gascuin; an; - Gascony.

Gerethech / Geirethech; in; - The Yellow River in Co. Leitrim.

Geraltaig - the Fitz Geralds.

Glaislinn Cluana  - in Athlone in Co. Roscommon.

Glenn, an; Glin - in the north - west of Co. Limerick.     Glenn Coluim Cill - Glencolmkill in the west of Co. Donegal.    Glenn Chonn Cadain - Glenconkeine in Ballynascreen in Co. Derry.    Glenn Da Du / Dule / Duile - in Oughteragh  in Co. Leitrim.    Glenn Da Locha - Glendalough in Co. Wicklow.    Glenn Eile; - situated to the west of Mulroy Bay in Co. Donegal.    Glenn Fathrain - Glendarragh in Kilmacteigue in Co. Sligo.    Glenn Finne - Glennfinn in Co. Donegal.    Glenn Flesgi - Glenflesk in Co. Kerry.    Glenn Gabli - Glengevlin in Co. Cavan.    Glenn na Mochart - Glenavoagh in Co. Sligo.  

Glinne; na; - The Glens of Co. Antrim.    Glinn Sge - Glinsk in Ballynakill in Co. Galway.

Glosetra - Earl of Gloucester.

Gno Bec - The south part of Moycullen in Co. Galway.    Gno Mor - the north part of Moycullen in Co. Galway.

Godelb - in Mag Ai in Co. Roscommon.

Goill - See: Gaill.

Goisdelbaig; na; Costellos of Co. Mayo.      Grainseach; an; - See: Caislen na Grainsige.  Grainsech Srutha; - in Tir Bruin na Sinna in Co. Roscommon.

Granard - Granard in Co. Longford.

Grencha - in Corca Athchlann in Co. Roscommon.

Grian - The River Graney in Co. Clare.

Guirtin na Spideoige - in Fedaro in Co. Leitrim.

Iarthar Connacht / Western Connacht. The territory of the Heremonian Ui Cobhthaigh Dal Cuinn Ui Briuin Seola Sept. Previously the same area as the Diocese of Annaghdown.

Iarthar Mide - Western Meath  mainly Co. Westmeath.     Iarthar Muman - West Munster.

Ichtar Cairpre - northern part of Carbury in Co. Sligo.    Ichtar Connacht - The north or Lower Connacht mainly in Co. Sligo.

Ierasolim  - Jerusalem.

Ifernach; in; - in Athlone in Co. Roscommon.

Imaire Fata; an t, Cluain Lis Becc.     Imaire Uarain - Oran in Co. Roscommon.

Imflech Brocada - Emlagh  in Co. Roscommon.

Imlech Ibair - Emily in Co. Tipperary.

Imper Emper - in Kilmacnevin in Co. Westmeath.

Inis Aenaig  - Inishheany off the south coast of Clew Bay in Co. Mayo.    Inis Bole - Inish Island in Loch Gara in Co. Sligo.    Inis Cain - Iniskeen in Loch Melvin in Co. Leitrim.    Inis Cain Meic Dega; - Inishkeen in Farney in Co. Monaghan.    Inis Clothrann - Inniscloghran in Loch Ree in Co. Roscommon.    Inis Crema - Inishcraff in Loch Corrib in Co. Galway.    Inis Cua - Inishcoe in Crossmolina in Co. Mayo.    Inis Cuan - the winding part of the Black River about a mile west of Rathowen at Moygoish in Co. Westmeath.    Inis Doigni - Inishterry in Loch Key  in Co. Roscommon.    Inis Eogain - Inishowen Peninsula in Co. Donegal.    Inis Fraich - Inishfree in Loch Gill in Co. Sligo.    Inis Locha Burran - Loughaverra Island in Co. Antrim.    Inis Locha Leithinnsi - Loughlynch Island in Co. Antrim.    Inis Mac nErin - Church Island in Loch Key in Co. Roscommon.    Inis Meodoin - Inishmaine on the south - east of Loch Mask in Co. Mayo.    Inis Mor Locha Gamna - Inchmore in Loch Gowna in Co. Longford.    Inis Mor (Locha) Gili) - Church Island in Loch Gill in Co. Sligo.    Inis na Conniri - O Reilly's Island in Loch Allan in Co. Roscommon.    Inis na Torc; - Cherry Island in Garradice Loch in Co. Leitrim.    Inis Raithlin - Inishraher in Westport Bay in Co. Mayo.    Inis Samair; an island in the River Erne near Ballyshannon in Co. Donegal.    Inis Sgellen (Sgeillenn) - Enniskillen in Co. Fermanagh. residence of O Donnell in 1514 AD.

Innsi an Lochain - Loughton Islands in the River Bann near Coleraine in Co. Derry.    Innsi Gall - the Hebrides Mc Rory King of in 1318 AD, Mac Donald King of in 1499 AD.    Insi Gall Orc - The Orkneys.    Insi Meic an Duirn  - Inishmacadurn / Rutland Island in Co. Donegal between the south end of Aran Island and the mainland.    Inis Mod - Islands in Clew Bay in Co. Mayo.    Inis Tuathruis - Near Rosses Point in Sligo Bay.  

Insola Sancti Trinetatis - See: Oilen na Trinnoite.

Iorc - York in England - Duke of.

Irrus - Barony of Erris in Co. Mayo. Brian O Dowd / Ua Dubda  King of in 1242 AD.


                                      Home Page                       Return to Celtic Heritage                           On to Territories and Places - L.